PhoneGap requirements

Hi,
I am totally new to programming and am looking at PhoneGap to take my HYPE3 html file and resources folder and create a workable hybrid app for iOS/Android/Win stores
Has anyone done this who can help or can anyone point me in the direction of what I need to do to be able to do this, I understand I need an index.htm and config.xml file but I’m clueless as to if I can rename my file and go from there and what else I need.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Dan

The exported .html file can be renamed to whatever you want (or simply exported with the index.html name). It is only the name and contents of the .hyperesources folder that must remain the same.

There are some specific tips on this post by @daniel. Searching the forums will reveal other tips.

Beyond this, there’s nothing too special about Hype’s output that causes issues with PhoneGap, so their documentation should directly apply! Of course you’re welcome to ask any specific questions as well.

1 Like

Hi Dan,
I am currently working on an iOS app with PhoneGap, and NWJS to compile MacOS and Windows applications, all my initial tests have been successful at a basic level.

I aim to post a tutorial series once I have this all sorted (Don’t hold your breath though!).
My initial tests with PhoneGap build have been successful and the app performance has been great.

Check out the Configap program to help you compile your config.xml file ready for PhoneGap Build to utilise.

I am happy to assist if you have other questions, I am still learning this process too mind you.
Cheers

2 Likes

Hi Isaac,

thanks for the reply, I’m so out of my depth with programming, I don’t really know the terminology or systems used so advice can get very confusing, very quickly for me, I’m not a total idiot but I’m more of a design guy, I’m not holding my breath but a tutorial would be great as I’m sure there are more like me who can design stuff but get lost in the programming etc.