Is Hype Pro suitable for making games?

I’m wondering how much stuff could be going on before Hype Pro would stop being performant? Do you think it’s feasible to use it to make games that work in browser on any device and then send scores and such to a database?

I’m not thinking of any super huge MMORPG or anything like that, but classic game clones like snake, board games, short and simple platformers and stuff like that.

I realize that some custom JS would likely be necessary but I was just wondering if this would be a good tool for the job in the first place. I have some Flash game making experience back in the day, and I’m very drawn to this app for its similarities. Although the Flash technology was flawed, the idea of scenes and timelines really made sense to me a lot more than pure code does.

Hype is basically sitting on top of regular HTML(5) and modern browsers are capable of much. Performance is better in canvas based render and Flash was more like the latter. In my opinion Hype has much potential but lacks somewhat specialities on gaming. It offers Sprite since version 4 and has a physics engine but still hasn’t catched up to dynamic addition from the resource library (like the old attachMovie etc.). So it is limited to the assets you set on stage in the moment your building the game. You can add HTML on the fly but that then won’t be Hype managed (timelines etc.) and even requires third party solutions to animate etc.

If you need lots of entities and dynamic particles or other rather pixel based effects search for a game dev environment based on canvas or use Unity in its 2D mode with web export. Added benefit… its industry standard and you could also export to iOS, Android (, PlayStation) and others. If it only needs to be web based their are some game builder solutions (even free) based on canvas and JS.