Hype Matter Helper (little functions and helper for Physics ⚛)

Version 1.0.0 is a quick drop on GitHub:

4 Likes

That's a LOT of code for a little action. I'm not a programer at all though. I don't doubt your abilities. I've seen you up to your eyeballs in code on this forum before. Maybe I should read through it and learn something for a change! lol. Great work though. I just happen to be playing with the physics part of hype myself lately. but with no code... so this interests me.
thanks,
Randy

1 Like

There are many more functions in there, and in production you will use the minified version of this (1.32KB gzipped, 3.5KB uncompressed). It includes extensive comments to understand it better if you want to tweak it.

Targeting

This function is used to allow a "target" that can either be a Node (querySelector), Nodelist (querySelectorAll) or a selector as a string. This allows to pass in your own node, nodelist or use a selector string that is executed below the current scene element.

hypeDocument.resolveTargetToNodeList

These functions allow batch add or remove a class from a target

hypeDocument.addClassToTarget
hypeDocument.removeClassFromTarget 

Here is a simple example:

// adds the class hello-world to all balls in the scene
hypeDocument.addClassToTarget('.ball', 'hello-world');

// remove the class hello-world to all balls in the scene
hypeDocument.removeClassFromTarget('.ball', 'hello-world');

// remove the class hello-world to all balls in the scene and recursive from the descendants
hypeDocument.removeClassFromTarget('.ball', 'hello-world', true);

Disabling pointer event (recursive)

The approach to disable pointer events is class-based because pointer events work on an individual element and not it's descendants. Meaning, using only element.style.pointerEvents = 'none'; doesn't prevent clicks on descendants of the group (or symbols). The class-based approach implements an universal selector that is added to your page: