Hype + Blocs - Text Placeholders

Hi there!

I'm new to Hype, but love it already!

I'm using Blocs to create and manage the homepage of my girlfriend, who is a singer (Homepage). I thought it would be great if I could make her Tour Dates more simple on the eyes, by just showing Date and location and have the additional info only appear when hovering on the Date/Location field.

While this would be easy for me to create with Hype, the problem is, that it would be very inconvenient to manage the tour dates in Hype.

So I wonder if there is a possibility to make a template for blocs, where I have the desired Hype animation, but can still edit the displayed information inside blocs. At the same time the information should only be editable inside blocs, but no more when the site is published.

I'm curious if there is anything like this done before or if this rather tricky. Full disclosure, I'm not a coder. I can understand basic html, but no css, so if CSS or HTML is used, I'd also need to know how.

Thank You very much for the help!! :slight_smile:

Hi @mr.birdy!

I started typing up an answer, but in using the Hype Bric, I found I could not embed two Hype animations (whether the same or different). This seems like it might be a bug, and would probably prevent you from achieving the goal of having a template Hype animation that has multiple instances on a page.

If you use the Hype bric, can you reproduce this problem/are you able to have multiple hype animations on a page?

(The answer itself if did work is a yes, but it will be tricky and require a little bit of javascript code)

1 Like

Hey Jonathan!

Thank you very much for your answer :slightly_smiling_face:

For me it is possible to have two Hype animations with the Hype bric! Strange it doesn't
work for you. I have everything updated to the newest version, including Mac OS (M1).

I’d love to hear about your solution, even though I’m not sure I’ll be able to follow :sweat_smile: