Does Hype generate BAD code?

Hi all,
I have few dev friends who say that Hype generate a really bad code which could push down the server in case of very big numbers of connections.
Is it true? you Tumult Guys what you would answer to this affirmation?

ps: i’m a graphic designer and I eat thanks to Hype, so if you could tell me what is true I appreciate it

I think this shows a fundamental misunderstanding regarding either how servers serve files, or how Tumult Hype documents work.

Tumult Hype generates files which can be served by any web server that can serve static files. It does not require PHP, Python, or any server-side language to do any processing.

Tumult Hype exports that receive a large number of hits count against your web hosting provider’s bandwidth. Hosting static files typically does not require huge processing power. For extremely popular documents, we recommend hosting on a content delivery network like Cloudflare, Cloudfront, or something as simple as via an S3 bucket.

But let’s say you have several 1 GB video files loaded in your Hype document and you get 1 million hits. This might overload your server if it is just a single piece of hardware. But any front end or backend developer would have placed an export with file sizes like this on a content delivery network where you pay per GB transferred.

Tumult Hype documents don’t require open connections to servers. The static files are downloaded and that’s that. So if you have 1,000 people viewing a Hype document, there is no greater server load (after the initial static files have been downloaded) compared to 1 million people viewing a document.

4 Likes

YEah! Thanks Daniel! This is a nice Answer I can Splat in their Face!!! Thank you, cuz anytime I’m trying to tell’em that Hype doesn’t give me any problem, but they attack me with argument unknown for me.

Thanks! this is much more clear!

1 Like

The only thing that I would like to add to this discussion are the following downsides for Hype: