Anyone submitted ads to Trade Desk?

I've created some ads that are being served by Trade Desk. In the head of my ads, I've included the precise JS that TD's specs state, plus an external clickTag function.

The ads were kicked back, stating: "You must include at least one click tag or select the Display & Video 360 environment in Google Web Designer and an exit event in your HTML file in order to set a click-through URL for your creative."

I'm unsure why my attached ad would throw this error. I've sent an inquiry back, but it's through several layers (agency, media team, etc) so I thought maybe I'd ask here in the meantime. This ad passes Google's HTML5 validator when I test it.

(I've stripped the logo and headlines here, for client confidentiality)
display ad fail.zip (106.0 KB)

It may be that they have an automated system which looks for where the clicktag is being called -- you could probably fool them by placing it in the head?

And then running goToUrl(); on click.

(If it is run as a Hype function, it is harder to scan without a person manually 'clicking' on the ad)

Oh, interesting. That makes sense, tho. So now with the goToUrl function not being external, what is the method to run it on click? It's not something that can be selected under Hype Actions.

Here's how that would look in Hype:

display ad fail 2.hype.zip (106.5 KB)

2 Likes

Gotcha, so there's still an external function, it's just not the clickTag part. Thanks so much! I'm still waiting to hear back from TD (of course). I'll post back when this is proven to be the solve.

I created a few test files for the media team to validate with Trade Desk, each with different clickTag configurations. As it turns out, it was the very code that their specs specified that was causing the errors. :person_facepalming:

Removing the getParameterByName function and using var clickTag = ""; is deemed valid.