Using CSS to format Hype elements

I can’t find much about CSS in Hype documentation. I found an example in Tips & Tricks forum but that isn’t really explained in the basic way that I need.

All I’m trying to do is to get a class style defined in the Head HTML to apply to a Hype element with the same class name. Doesn’t happen. I’d be very grateful if somebody could take a look and tell me how. I’ve attached a simple example.

Thanks.

simpleCSStest.hype.zip (32.3 KB)

Hi Andrew!

You need to override Hype's settings with an inline specificity that contains an exclamation point preceding the word "important" - i.e. !important for each property. So - from your example we add...

<style>
	.testclass {
		color: blue !important;
		background-color: LightBlue !important;
	}
</style>

Thanks so much Jim - as a newbie I would not have guessed that.
I now see that the head style needs a way to blast through what Hype must be defaulting as a full inline style(?). Couldn't find that anywhere. You are a gem!

Thank You! Just passing along what I have learned on this Forum - an incredibly useful resource!

Often You can find out what You are looking for by a Forum Search. Sometimes, however, the answer is buried or strewn over several topics (or not showing at all as in your case).

And You did a very good thing - showed your work in a Hype document - always useful to those who want to help as they can see you intentions and may be pick-up on something You may have missed in a verbal description of the problem. So You will get a more accurate answer, quicker. Even for this relatively straightforward question it was helpful.

1 Like

You are correct that Hype uses inline styles, so to override Hype's styles on elements, you will need to use the !important directive.