Tool tip that follows mouse

Hi,
I’m try to create a tool tip that follows the coordinates of the mouse on hover. I’m using this simple javascript. However, it doesn’t seem to be working properly in Hype. The tool tip shows up pretty far away from the curser and doesn’t follow it. I have seen this script work out side of Hype so I’m sure why it isn’t working here. I’m really a developer so I am a little stuck.

tooltip.zip (80.7 KB)

tooltip.hype.zip (114.8 KB)

• to access elements within a hypedocument the script should run onsceneload
  • mousemove hasOwnProperty -> clientX, clientY. pageX and pageY are not listed. though those properties belong to mouseevents it’ll should work too …
  • the absolute position of the tooltipp-element is related to its parent and not to the document

… the attached file should get you further …

4 Likes

Thanks

1 Like

@h_classen
I know this goes back aways... but I'm interested in implementing tool tips, and I am curious as to how your example works...

I'm seeing that the js runs at the very start, so it seems to be always active?

Then for the text boxes... it seems that the tooltip is detecting something about the (red)text, but I'm not sure how it is doing that. The tool tip content seems to be defined INSIDE of the of the text in each rectangle.

How was the text defined... as well as the tool tip?

I tried changing the color of another bit of the text to the same red value.... and naturally, that didn't create a tool tip...

I just found the HTML? that defines the text and the tool tips. (the little pencil icon).

I don't understand the "couponcode" class... I assume it defines the color of the text...

But for my purposes, I don't want tool tips linked to text... I want them linked to graphical elements... is there a way to adapt this off of text, and onto elements instead?

Thank you!

Hi Ryder!

I don't understand the "couponcode" class... I assume it defines the color of the text...