Timelines - using objects to trigger

Hi. I am new to Hype and understand timelines and have created a simple animation. I am trying to figure out something that is likely super simple. I have an object on the Main Timeline, that is set up to play Another Timeline when moused over. That mouse over simply makes another object appear. But what's happening is that the object I want to appear only on the mouse over, appears in the Main Timeline, as well. I can't seem to ask it to be hidden in the Main Timeline. If I do, it also hides it in the other timeline. What am I missing?

Perhaps separate timelines for this isn't the proper method to have something appear only on mouse over??

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

There's a few things to note that I think should help.

First is that timelines do not contain elements, Scenes contain elements. So you can't really have an element on one timeline and not the other, since that's not really how it works.

Timelines contain animations. So when you start a timeline, you're basically playing a stream of animations that effect properties of the elements in the scene.

Further breaking it down, animations are keyframes that change a property from its value in the start keyframe to the value in the end keyframe.

So to get it working such that mousing over one element changes the visibility (display) of another element, you'll have the initiating element have an on mouse over action that starts the alternate timeline. The alternate timeline then has two keyframes that take the element from hidden to visible.

If you want a mouse out to re-hide, then you can make an action to start that same timeline, but play in reverse.

Here's a basic example document:

Visbility.hype.zip (22.8 KB)

Thanks, Jonathan.