Symbol animations inside other animations

Excuse my ignorance, I am new to hype and still learning. I am trying to create an animation of a butterfly that flaps its wings and flits around.
I created the butterfly animation using vectors and set it to loop on its timeline by setting a timeline action to continue the timeline and play in reverse. This works really well when previewed in a browser.

I then thought I could import the symbol into a new hype document and move the symbol along a motion path. But when I import the butterfly symbol it comes with it's own timeline and I can't get the wings to flap independently of the motion timeline.

I have searched the forum but can't find anything that close, so I wonder if I am trying to do the impossible.

I thought a symbol could have its own timeline and loop continuously and independently of other timelines.

Thanks in advance

Bob

Hei Bob, please upload a copy of your hype document. Makes it easier to identify your problem...

Regards, Kalle

1 Like

This is generally a good idea, as I'm not sure why this isn't working. I'm not sure what's going on.

However, if you're reluctant to upload your content, I think I might know what's wrong...

Here's something to check... did you set the Symbols to play? I feel like I've had a similar problem and all I had to do was start the symbol. If I'm remembering correctly, this is done with the "Symbol Actions" property.

That screenshot is from my "Atoms" template...

https://photics.com/free-template-tuesday-21-tumult-hype-atoms/

It's basically a symbol (Electron) in a symbol (Atom)... and then that symbol is duplicated three times. I was just working on this, as I created an animated gif for my new article... Widgets 2.8 — Elements – Photics.com

So, I suspect what you're trying to do is not impossible... but I'm not sure. :man_shrugging:t2:

1 Like

[I have attached my file and thanks to Kalle and Michael for your help.