Switching between videos while playing

Hi there. I’m fairly new to Hype, so please bear with me if this is very easy to do.

I’m working on a project where I have a video (mp4-file) of a guy riding a bike where the user can click a button somewhere on the page to take off the riders bike helmet.
The two videos are identical except that the guy is wearing a helmet in one video (video1) and not wearing it in the other video (video2).

How would you guys do this?

Is it possible to start the two videos simultaneously and just switch the visibility of the videos when the user clicks the button?

What do you think? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks :slight_smile:

Here's a teeny bit of help...

This is theoretical, as I'm using my iPad right now. I'm thinking you could use JavaScript to synchronize the two videos... grab the time from one video and then set it to the time of the other video when it's played.

You might be facing some technical limitations though, as that won't work on devices that don't play the video on the page. Additionally, videos can be large. Two playing at the same time could run into performance issues. Even just loading two videos could be a problem.

Another approach would be to not use video, but still frames. I tried that with Annoyed Tomatoes... Annoyed Tomatoes – Photics.com ...and that made the project quite large. But if it is truly exactly the same, except for the head of the driver, then small square of animation can be layered above the full video. That should... theoretically... save some storage space.

I'm not sure if these ideas will work, but that's probably what I would try if faced with this challenge.

Hi Frederik!

I would go with syncing timelines between the videos. I do not have enough time right now to do a 2-video demo. But below is code I have used to sync a Timeline in Hype to an audio timeline. This approach should translate to your video situation.