Problem with Click Button on mobile JavaScript

Hello

I am a french beginner in javascript and I am working on a game project on Hype. For the moment I put all my actions of buttons on a single JavaScript that I load to loading of my scene.

Here is a sample code I use

var myButton1 = hypeDocument.getElementById(‘name-bt1’);

myButton1.onclick = function () {
//actions of the button
}

myButton1.ontouchstart = function () {
//actions of the button for mobile
}

My big problem is that for each of my buttons, I am forced to put two functions so that it works on mobile and tablet.
Is there not a code that allows to combine the two actions in a single function.

Thanks in advance for helping me optimize my project

No one has solutions to my problem ?

A little bit of patience :wink: We are many people mostly with day jobs :smiley:

Hype has a built in action that covers both click (tap) and mousedown (touchstart). If you are using Hype then choose your button element on stage and then go to the "Actions" inspector and choose the plus sign next to the appropriate action.

Here you can see a couple of actions being applied to the element. One is "Run Javascript". Here it will create a function that you can use to type in your relevant Javascript code that you need to run on those actions.

#####Note, Click and Touchstart are 2 different events, if you need to have similar reactions they might act differently.

If you still want to go the Javascript route as in your post then you can create a variable that checks to see if the machine has touchstart and use that instead of click. If it doesn't then use click.

clickEvent = (function() {
  if ('ontouchstart' in document.documentElement === true)
    return 'touchstart';
  else
    return 'click';
})();

This code needs to run before it is called.

2 Likes