Opening file using Dropbox

Hi,

This might be a very basic question but can the project that I work on run simply on just sharing the folder to dropbox?
It runs when I open it on iMac and laptops but it seems not to work on iPad.

Because when I export my project to Dropbox and I tried running the file, it shows blank page.

Did I miss something or do I need to put some code to activate the animation? I’m quite new with codes so this might be really basic stuff. Do I need a server to run this on several iPad or maybe Android Tablet?

Thank you for the help!

Victoria

Hi @victoriajung

I don’t have any information for you but this has come up before so I have linked the other topic and posted for a response there for you.

Can you share your document and the Dropbox URL? Do you see any issues when previewing on a local browser? (File > Preview)

Do you see errors in your browser’s error console?

I’m guessing you’re using the Dropbox app on iOS and trying to open an exported .html file? Unfortunately the Dropbox app itself doesn’t know how to open any relative URLs from the HTML, such as the javascript which drives the project or any image resources.

If you export via Hype’s ‘File > Export as HTML5 > Dropbox…’ that will give you a public link which is served via Dropbox.

Hey Jonathan,

The thing is I did export my file via Hype’s 'File > Export as HTML5 > Dropbox…

I can preview my project on my local browser. There is no error notification but what happens is the screen just shows the background color of my project but blank with no other elements or layers or animations.

How are you viewing it on iOS? Through the same URL? (and if so can you share that?)

Hi Jonathan,

Yes, I’m viewing it through an ipad. Does it matter whether it’s an older version of ipad or not?

And, can I share the file through email? The project should not be made public just yet.

Are you viewing through Mobile Safari or the Dropbox app? What version of iOS is your iPad running?