Objects appearing in order and place defined by the user

Hi all! I’m building a presentation that’s supposed to look like a Windows-like OS. So when a new application is opened, an icon representing it appears to the left in the bottom task bar (like it does in Windows). And when you open another application, an icon should appear to the right of the one that was already there.

The tricky part here is that the applications can be opened in any order and therefore don’t have a given place on the task bar – any of them could be opened and should place itself to the left in the task bar, but to the right of the ones already opened, if any.

This mechanic would be quite useful in many situations, I think – in short: having the first activated object appear at a certain place and the next one to the right of, left of, above or below the one(s) already there, instead of at a locked x/y coordinate as normal.

I’m fairly new to Hype, but have a pretty good understanding of most of the interface and love it already, truly! I don’t have any skills in JavaScript (or any other coding language), except for having copied and pasted a few times, and have a limited understanding of the logic in it. I have a feeling that JavaScript is necessary for this task, but if there’s another way, it’s even better (maybe it can be done with physics? I haven’t worked with that yet).