Mini game with Hype | iOS app

Hi everyone,

I'm an indie iOS developer, and I'm seriously considering adding a game inside my app. My app is built in Swift, and I've recently read that Apple's guidelines recommend to use HTML5 for mini games.

I upgraded to Hype Pro today (long overdue, I've been using Hype since 2014!)

My question is: what do you think is the feasability of creating a game, to be embedded inside an iOS app, using Hype?
My interrogations revolve around state management & saving progress. I suppose that will involve a lot of JavaScript, and I haven't used it yet inside a Hype project. I'm comfortable with JavaScript, too.

Game will be about farming :slight_smile:
My app is fairly successful, with tens of thousands of monthly active users. The goal of adding a game is to incentivize certain actions (that drive retention) + do something fun and educational about sustainable agriculture.

Thanks a lot and congrats to the Hype team for the endurance on this project!

Baptiste

1 Like

I've done it before. These games were made with Hype and then put on Apple's App Store…

Cablinghttps://photics.com/games/cabling/
Circles With Grandmahttps://photics.com/games/circles-with-grandma/

LocalStorage might work. :man_shrugging:t2:

Although, for advanced features on one of my WebView apps, I built a bridge between WKWebView and Swift. That made the app way more powerful, but also way more complicated. Such an approach is also a problem if the app / game is to be ported to other platforms.

Also a big problem… I wasn't able to port those WKWebView games to Apple TV / tvOS.

Another issue is waiting to see what Tumult does with Hype. What exactly is Hype 5 going to do? Is there going to be a Hype 5? If so, when?!

Then there's 3D. While that's technically possible with web tech, that's currently not a native feature of Hype. I don't want to have to fight the software, so I'm not sure if I should build another game with Hype… especially if it's 3D.