Marching Arrows

Hi,

I am pretty new to Hype and am trying to make a simple animation of a set of marching arrows along a path. I want the arrows to be continuously moving around the path. It seems pretty simple to make an object follow a path but how do this?

This video might help:

This video shows how you can use a vector shape and then animate along its path. You will need to create a Timeline Action at the end of the animation if you want the animation to loop (Which restarts the timeline), but other than that this should be pretty straightforward. The timeline action should be set to ‘Start Timeline’ at the point when your arrow has returned to its starting position and done a complete loop.

Thanks, Daniel,

I understand the concepts in the video - and I just figured out how to make a linear move vs an “Ease in Out” move but I still don’t understand if Hype can do what I need it to.

A picture is worth a thousand words so hopefully, the illustration I uploaded will help you to understand what I want to do. I want the arrows to continuously move across the black rectangle.

The rectangle acts as mask for the moving arrows. When even a little part of the arrow moves outside of the black rectangle, that part will disappear (like shown in the image on the right). I want an infinite number of arrows constantly moving from right to left inside the black rectangle.

Can Hype do this? If so how?

I think this would be best as a repeating timeline (looped, by setting a Start Timeline action at the end of the timeline). You can then set the black rectangle to have a ‘content overflow’ hidden property so objects that are in the group but outside of its bounds are hidden:

arrows.hype.zip (29.1 KB)