Looping behaviors... (I think)

I just started using Hype yesterday. I was a long time user of Flash, write a great deal of PHP code and spend much of my days staring at databases. All self-taught with many learning curves.

I have circles on a map. I'm trying to get them to pulse as a User enters the page. I've created my Symbols (8 of them) and created the Behavior I want (maybe).

The circle expands and quickly fades out.

The Behavior was created in Symbol panel, and I have applied them to two of the circles. The Behavior was applied in the Actions Panel on the Main Timeline.

1. Am I doing that correctly so far?

2. How do I get it to loop?

3. As I apply them to the other buttons, is there a way to randomize them?

Thank you.

Sounds fine to me -- you can use either individual symbols, or different timelines. Both work functionally the same.

The easiest way is with timeline actions placed at the end of the symbols timeline that restarts the timeline. A demo can be found here: Tumult Hype Documentation

What aspect do you want to randomize?

I'll answer this one quickly then dig into the demo you linked for me.

The Behaviors on the circles. I know I can 'hard code' it in by using the timeline, but I wondered if there was a way to randomize it.

I still don't know what you want to randomize -- their animations? Color?

Randomize when they pulse. The answer is probably no, and I just have to apply Behaviors multiple times for each Symbol, which is fine.

As for looping, I had tried Go To Time in Timeline, set to 0:00:00. It hasn't worked yet. I'll keep working on it, but one question...

Where do I set Go To Time in Timeline?

Start timeline always restarts the timeline anyway. So no need to reset to 0 on the other hand continue timeline would need such a step.

For randomization you can always use a JavaScript call and call the Hype API that provides some of the functionality and a subset of the properties found in the Interface.