Looking for feedback - Interactive to compare new old Brightspace HTML editor

Hi All,

I created the following interactive to show differences between the new and old Brightspace HTML editor. (A work in progress.)
[https://personal-sites.deakin.edu.au/~pbright/info/Brightspace_Editor_New_vs_Old/]
(Note: Click 'Proceed' on the initial landing page.)

My method is probably unconventional, I'm still a newbie in the javascript space so I used the timeline interface to show/hide/move elements at 1 second intervals, with transitions set to 'Instant'.

Apart from the background image of the old and new editor menus, these are the main elements I've used:

• A blue square or rectangle is used to highlight the old editor icons/menus
  • An orange square or rectanlge is used to highlight the new editor icons/menus
  • A Tool name text field (that changes at each interval)
  • A Comment text field (that changes at each interval, when required)
  • Each icon is overlaid with a hidden button with an action to jump to the time in the timeline to show it’s corresponding icon in the other editor
  • Additional images of menu options are displayed when required

(As this is a work in progress, I jump around the timeline a bit and there are a few alignment issues with image scaling.)

I'd value feedback on how others would have tackled this.
I'd also be interested in what I can do to make this more accessible.

Regards,
Peter

Brightspace HTML Editor new old comparison v08.zip (882.2 KB)

1 Like

A couple things I would do to make this a bit more obvious as to how it works:

1. If there's no action after about 15 seconds, you could lightly pulse the clickable elements to show a possible next action
  2. Put 'New Brightspace editor' above the new one instead of below, and maybe give the old one a different background to clearly show that the two are separate.