iBooks Author Widget .js issues?

Hi all,

I'm trying to test export a 'simple' puzzle page on to iBooks widget, using an example by @h_classen (thanks!) here: How do you make an element draggable? - #8 by h_classen

It works as intended in a browser (desktop and mobile) but the scripts don't seem to run in iBook widget. I read this at Intro to Exporting iBooks Widgets :

iOS 11 has new restrictions on external content which causes HTML widgets, external video, and other external content to fail.

Does this mean that external scripts won't be loaded?

I embedded the external hitCheck.js in the <head> with <script> which again works in a browser but still not in iBooks..

Hype file: Puzzle.zip (1.8 MB)

i’ve got no experience with iBooks, but does it make a difference if you include the external js¿Puzzle_js_intern.hype.zip (1.8 MB)

1 Like

It means that ones from an online domain won't; your hitCheck.js that is embedded should be fine. You've done the correct steps to get it to run.

When I preview via iBooks Author to iBooks running on an iPad, the widget works for me and I'm able to play the puzzle. What are you seeing?

1 Like

Previewing on Mac iBooks works well for me, but I did hit an issue that when previewing it within iBooks Author the entire application immediately crashes.

The iOS 11 restrictions I mentioned in my intro post has to do with requests to external servers, but it looks like everything you’re doing is very local.

Apologies all, I must’ve used an earlier version of Hype export in which I had included the external script in the <head> which, upon closer inspection, broke the page.

Now working fine on iBooks author. @jonathan; iBooks Author won’t show the preview in the app itself for me either, but doesn’t crash. Works fine when previewed in Apple Books on MacOS and iPad.

@h_classen Thanks for the non-minified version too, helpful code in there!