How would you go about making a simple book using Hype?

Hi Forum,

I’m brand new to this. I’ve read the documentation, a bit of it stuck, I guess. But I’m not sure how to progress from here.

I’m interested in Hype for its ability to create a (non-animated) book for a website, with page turns. I want it to look like a book in a skeuomorphic kind of way, so the table of contents is an actual page inside the book rather than a separate navigation section, if that makes sense.

Thank you very much to the person who provided the head code to allow page turns using arrow keys. This was helpful. It worked beautifully. I’ve also set up page turns with swipes.

Apart from the page turns I only need this ebook to do a few other things:

1. Jump to each chapter from the Table of Contents scene on mouse click.
  2. Include a home button on each page which takes user back to Table of Contents on mouse click. Does this require making use of symbols? I don’t even know.
  3. Add narration SFX after user ‘turns the page’ and taps any key on the keyboard (except for the back and forward arrows, that is.)
  4. Ideally I’d like a soundtrack to play as user navigates through the front cover, copyright page, and table of contents, without it stopping and starting again should they jump back and forth through these ‘peritextual’ parts of the book. I gather from another thread that this requires making use of a symbol but I can’t quite get my head around it yet.

What I’ve set up so far is probably the labour intensive and stupid way of going about it. I created a scene with the page turns then duplicated it until I had as many scenes as I have pages in the book. There are quite a few pages. It took a while.