How to toggle image opacity, with a variable…

Hello All,
First off, I am pretty new to all this, but I am loving Hype so far. I don’t have much experience with coding, so excuse my ignorance.
So, basically, what I am trying to do is set up an interactive element where the user can click on either side of an image, and it changes the opacity of that side. You can basically think of it as a venn diagram, where if I tap the left side, the right side fades and the left side stays 100% opacity. I set something up that works except for one issue. If the user then clicks the right side, I want the left side to fade down and the right side to fade back up. I think I need to set a variable or something so that when the user clicks a side, it checks what state the other side is in.
I know this may be a bit confusing because I am having trouble explaining. Please feel free to ask for clarification and thank you so much in advance!
Tim

A bit more clarification. I have timelines for 2 images. One for each side. In each of those timelines I have set up animations for dimming the image and then bringing it back up. So that works great for the toggle of the opacity, but I also need to make sure that the other side does the right thing too. So I was thinking, when I press the button, it could check where the playhead is and then take the appropriate action. I started with this, but am a bit to novice to know how to set it up…

[this is my attempt at writing out what I want to do without knowing the proper Javascript]

if hypeDocument.currentTimeInTimelineNamed(‘left’) = 0, then play
if hypeDocument.currentTimeInTimelineNamed(‘left’) = 1, then pause

Hi Timothy

Can you share a document? It would be easier to see how you are trying to accomplish it. There may be several ways to achieve the same thing. But, it would be easier to give you help if we could see what you are doing.

D