How to get an array for audio files for feedback and multiple answer attempts working in a quiz

Hello. I am new to Hype and to Javascript and would like to find out what I am doing wrong!!

I started off following Darren Pearson’s Web based Trivia Game tutorial (at http://www.darrenscorner.com/tutorials/). I was able to complete this and then set about making some modifications, mainly by adding audio files to the game.

I was able to add two audio files, one for a correct response and one for an incorrect response and get these to play (thanks to Daniel). However, I wanted to take this further and add more audio. This is where I have found it very difficult to get things working the way I’d like.

What I am trying to do is this:

1. Have more than one audio file available, chosen at random from an array for each correct response. For each correctly answered question, one audio file from the array would play. (It would not matter if the same audio clip was used more than once.)

2. Have more than one audio file available, chosen at random from an array for each incorrect response.

3. In the case of incorrect responses, it would be great for the user to be able to have further attempts at answering each question until the correct answer is selected. At the moment, I have a penalty of two points taken from the running total when an incorrect response is submitted. Unfortunately, currently only one attempt can be made for each question. Looking through Darren’s code, the Hype documentation and the forum discussions, I can’t really see why that might be. I think maybe I need to have some kind of event listener in place, but I’m not sure why or how to go about this.

I am uploading two files:

1. This file works, but just has one audio file for correct answers and one for incorrect answers.

TEC-HypeQuizTemplate-v1a.zip (608.8 KB)

1. This file is my attempt to use multiple audio files for correct and incorrect answers and does not work.