How to call external JS function from Hype button

First of all, let me say I'm a Hype newbie (so far nearly a week), but a developer with many years experience in JS, PHP, etc etc.

I know this question must have been answered a million times, but I was unable to find it.

I have a Hype doc, and a button on stage.
I have included JQuery library and my custom external.js file in the resources.
Tested these and they work fine.

All I want to do is select the button and get it to call a function in external.js, passing the event as a parameter.

here's the function in external.js:

function test(event){
		console.log("button clicked");
}

To call this function I can't see a way of just adding test(event) to the button, as it seems that an internal function needs to be defined first.

so I do that with this internal Hype function:

function hypeScript(hypeDocument, element, event){
        // call the function defined in external.js and pass it the event
        test(event);
        }

Unfortunately my console error is:
HYPE-728.full.min.js:141 Error in undefined: ReferenceError: test is not defined

I am therefore of the opinion that somewhere the scope of functions in the external.js needs to be declared, because built-in functions seem to still work (ie: console.log and alert() still work in the external file).

external.zip (77.2 KB)

Correct; if you want to call some JavaScript you need to first make a function.

The function is scoped inside of the jquery callback and is not global - you can verify this by opening the developer console and trying to type test() and will get the same basic error.

The easiest fix is to change your declaration to be an assignment on the global window object.

Instead of:

function test(event){

Use:

window.test = function (event) {

The alternative would be to not place the test() function inside the jquery ready callback.

Hope that helps!