Help needed playing multiple videos

Hi folks, Does anyone have experience working with multiple videos in a single timeline? I have a project where I want each video to play based on the location of a slider in the animation.

For instance, I have grouped 4 videos (in a line) that are controlled in visibility behind a mask. As you slide the slider the videos pop into view in turn. I’ve animated the slider to move the videos over.
What I now want to do it control each of the videos with the same play/pause button, but only play the video if it’s in the display window.
I’m thinking that I am going to need some JS, but I am new to it, so not sure where to start. I can
share the hype doc if necessary.

I know that you can use this:

hypeDocument.getElementById('video1').play();
hypeDocument.getElementById('video1').pause();

for each of the play/pause buttons, but not sure how to tell the animation to play the correct video. I also would like to pause the video if the slider is moved.

Any help anyone can give would be most welcome.

Steve

It probably depends a bit on your setup and how you’ve implemented the slider; if you have a zip of your .hype document that would probably help folks give advice.

1 Like

Given you add a CSS class myVideos to all of them and you know what the current video is by the virtue of your slider you could do something like this:

var sceneElm = document.getElementById(hypeDocument.currentSceneId());
var videoElms = sceneElm.querySelectorAll('.myVideos');
// assuming that you somehow populated currentVideoElm with current Video
var currentVideoElm = YOUR CODE TO SET THIS HERE;

videoElms.forEach(function(videoElm){
    videoElm.pause();
})

currentVideoElm.play();

You could also select by video tag but that would assume that all videos in a scene are part of the list

var videoElms = sceneElm.querySelectorAll('video');