Dealing with variable timelines

Hi all,

I’m no expert in code and I’m having a really hard time dealing with variables.

I have an animated pointer hand/image that points at an object the user must find (it is actually more like multiple pointers on different timelines for each object). Their purpose is to point at an object only one at a time until the user “finds” and clicks on the object (it’s a hidden object game, there are 4 objects in total). The pointer can point at any object that’s not found… it doesn’t matter which object, just not an object that’s already disappeared/clicked on by the user. I tried getting around code by manipulating the timeline (continue/pause/go to time in timeline, etc.) but in the end, I cannot get around these problems: having two pointers appear at the same time, a pointer pointing at an object that’s already disappeared, or no pointers showing up at all and one object is remaining.

I tried looking this up in the forum, and the coding for variables is way over my head. Is there a way to completely disable a timeline once you no longer need it? Or can I make the pointer I no longer want invisible even if its timeline is still running?

I tried using this on click/run javascript code to hide an unwanted pointer (I added the unique ID “pointer” to it):

"hypeDocument.getElementById('pointer').style.visibility = ‘hidden’

but after running this script, it disables all other clickable actions afterward. I even tried using a similar line of code but to change the opacity to 0. Same results…. everything is no longer clickable after running the code.

Right now, everything is just on one scene using and manipulating different timelines. Is my only choice to make lots and lots of scenes to control the variation of the pointer hand?

Hmm,
Changing the pointer is easy enough

https://www.w3schools.com/jsref/prop_style_cursor.asp

But I am having trouble visualising this and what you are using for a pointer?.