Controlling a symbol timeline with Javascript

I’m new to Javascript, and I’m trying to continue a symbol timeline with Javascript from the scene timeline.

I’ve attached a test file.

symbol timeline test.zip (11.7 KB)

1 Like

There might be another way, but I’d tackle it through custom behaviors. Within your symbol, create a custom behavior to run the timeline you want to continue.

Then you can trigger this either using a regular action or through Javascript like this:
hypeDocument.triggerCustomBehaviorNamed(‘symbol-run-color’);

symbol timeline test.zip (21.8 KB)

Thanks Steve!

The custom behavior is a great solution.

Joachim

I also have the same question. The custom behaviors do work for simple stuff, but I have a more complex situation which requires some javascript to control the timelines inside a symbol.

Essentially, I want to create a button that when CLICKED, it TOGGLES the timeline. No, I don’t want to mouse over or something else to reverse or continue the timeline. I do need the button to toggle the timeline INSIDE a symbol.

I know this script works for timelines in current scene:

if ((typeof this.timelineState == "undefined") || (this.timelineState == "LR")) {
hypeDocument.playTimelineNamed("departament-menu-click");
this.timelineState = "RL"; } else {
hypeDocument.playTimelineNamed("departament-close");
this.timelineState = "LR"; }

I want this same script to toggle timelines inside symbols. Can you guys help me with that, please?

Thanks in advance.

hope this’ll work for your needs:
toggle.hype.zip (12.2 KB)

Nice day :smile:
Hans

2 Likes

Don’t know of a way to do that aside from creating 2 custom behaviors and a global variable to track state.