Conditional decisions and variables

Hi, I am new to Hype and in love with it. I have created my first interactive piece and I find myself needing something I cannot find in the documentation, but I know it can be done. I am not a coder… but I can hack together pieces as needed from other people’s scripts. The person who wrote the code for full-screen here in the forums did a brilliant job and I love his code and use it.

This being said, I guess I need to dive into javascript a bit. Here is what I am trying to do. Any advice would be appreciated

I want to declare variables for a series of buttons on the screen. When you press the buttons, it ads numbers to a couple of variables, one that is a counter for how many you have pressed and one is the value of the button.

Once you hit 4 buttons, you move to a new scene.

On the next scene, you hit 4 buttons again and it ads up their number values. If they match the stored variable, then you move on. If not, you go back.

It seems pretty simple to me, but I do not know how to make Hype branch or make decisions based on Javascript variables or conditions. Heck, for that matter, I don’t know JS, so I have a bit to do here.

But, I do know what I want to accomplish.

Any ideas? Can Hype get to a point where it makes a conditional if/then and branches based on that decision?

Thanks for any input.

Maurice

In Hype, any logic (math, variables, conditionals, loops, etc.) requires JavaScript. There are sometimes clever ways to do specific tasks with timelines/custom behaviors but even then code is usually more clear.