Change timeline properties through Javascript

Hi all!

Is it possible to change certain timeline / tween properties through JavaScript.
So let’s say I have a Cube that spins 360 degrees in 1 second (timeline). And I have a button that randomises the rotation. When I press the button the Cube now spins a random number of degrees (0 - 360).

A follow-up question would be: is there a way to tween objects using the Hype-JS-library directly (so without the timeline)?

short answer yes.

If you are looking to programmatically change the rotation then you can access the transform property like so

element.style.transform = ...

So, maybe in your case you can do something like this in a function on click

var randNum = Math.floor(Math.random() * 360) + 1; // generates a random number between 1 and 360.
cube = hypeDocument.getElementById('myCube'); //points to your element with an ID of "myCube"
cube.style.transition = "transform 1s"; //this animates it over 1 sec
cube.style.transform = "translateX(100px) translateY(100px) rotate(" + randNum + "deg)"; // The setting for the transform property of your element to spin on the z axis randomly. You can add the rotateX and rotateY values in the same way. Note the translate values must be the same as your left and top position in Hype scene otherwise the element will go to the 0,0 corner
1 Like

Hi!

You made a little typo there (translate Y instead of translateY), but it works like a charm! Thank you!

Is this documented somewhere, so I can have a read? I can imagine you can also change things like easing and others animation properties.

Thank you once again!

Ya get what I mean :slight_smile:

These are basic CSS techniques but put in Javascript form.

I think http://w3schools.com has some good examples.

element.style.transitionTimingFunction = "ease-in-out";

would be a way to change the easing

1 Like