Change Email by Code

Dear Hype community,

does anybody know how I could set up my email via javascript? Due to security issues I don’t want my email displayed as clear text which you could show with browser developer tools - instead I would like to have some sort of an encrypted email address only a human eye would understand right away.

For example:
var_1 = “t”
var_2 = “es”
var_3 = “t@g”
var_4 = “ma”
var_5 = “il.co
var_6 = “m”

Email = str(var_1+var_2+var_3+var_4+var_5+var_6) = "test@gmail.com"

I must admit I’m not a programmer. I would be most grateful for some useful tips.
Thanks in advance,

Ilian

But, forgive me if I'm mis-understanding, the user will see an email address within the browser anyway so why do you want to make it obscure within the developer tools?

However, this would be similar to what you posted in Javascript.

var_1 = "t";
var_2 = "es";
var_3 = "t@g";
var_4 = "ma";
var_5 = "il.co";
var_6 = "m";

var email = var_1 +var_2 + var_3 + var_4 +var_5 + var_6;
// console.log(email) = test@gmail.com
1 Like

Thank you very much! :slight_smile:

I’m planing some sort of google’s “reCAPTCHA” for a static hype webpage, which I would like to share with the hype community when it’s ready. I’ve created a field with tiles. Once you’ve clicked the right ones the button to send an email is clickable and an image cover is moving aside from the button. To prevent bots from sending spam mails I need that “human verification” unless the bot has got an AI. In addition a good bot probably would find my mail address in the source code of the page if it is in clear text, therefore I came up with the idea, to make the email unreadable for malware.

What do you think?

If you don’t mind would you be so kind and could tell me how I can set the code up? Element ID of a button… I guess?

Something like:

var email = hypeDocument.getElementById('email_button').children[0];

or

var email = hypeDocument.getElementById('email_button').innerHTML;