Button Interactivity

Hello,

I am new to Hype and was hoping for some help creating an Infographic. I want to have an image with buttons, when you mouse over the button, text will appear with a title and when you exit the text will go away. When you click the button, an html widget will appear to give information. I have all of that working, but the issue I have is if the html widget is open and the user selects another button, I want the current html widget to close and the new one to open. I am not sure how to do this because I do not know which button the user will select next. For example, if button 1 is pressed and info 1 is displayed, then the user selects button 4, I’m not sure how to make info 1 close before info 4 opens. I assume I will use javascript to have the current timeline run backwards. I hope this makes sense and and is easy to fix.

Thanks!

Well I’m not a javascript guy, and without an example how you setup shop it’s hard to properly help but a way to do this could be by using custom behaviors.

For example this way though there may be better ways around this with js.

custom_behavior-multibttn.hype.zip (20.7 KB)

Another method to do this is via Relative Timelines. This allows animating from whatever the value happens to be to a specified value. You could take an approach that the timelines that show item A will hide B and C. You could also have a single timeline that hides A, B, and C which is run first and then run the timeline that shows A (and it will take over controlling the properties so the hiding won’t be applied to this one).

I had tried Rick’s method and it worked great. I am interested in Jonathan’s idea. I will read the documentation. Do you have a sample?

Thank you!

This file from the documentation shows the basics of relative timelines:
https://tumult.com/hype/documentation/3.0/documents/Timelines-Relative-Timelines.hype.zip

This document has a resetting technique on the last “route 1” scene: