Basic Widget using Javascript within Hype

I hope this is not too basic of a question but I am still learning. I would like to take this basic temperature converter javasript and recreate it in Hype so that I can fancy it up with some nice text and animation. The code looks like this below. I have also attached my failed attempt at recreating it in Hype. I think my coding is wrong but I am too new at this to figure out what I am doing wrong.

Also how do I embed html text in my message so that it is viewable without making it an image?

testtemp.hype.zip (36.1 KB)

Three tick marks (```) will signify the start and stop of a code block. For code that is inline (like this), you can start and stop with a single tick mark. (this is the character shared with the ~ tilde, not a single quote)

Let's dive into your code. First, taking a look at the Head HTML:

<p><input id="inputFahrenheit" type="number" placeholder="Fahrenheit" oninput="temperatureConverter(this.value)" onchange="temperatureConverter(this.value)"></p>
<p><span id="outputCelcius"></span></p>

<script>
var valNum = ();
</script>

The first problem is that you are using <p>, <input>, and <span> elements in the head. But these are display elements that would be in the body. It sounds like your goal is to use Hype elements for all the styling, so you can just delete these since you'll be replacing them with elements.

The second part in your <script> tag is assigning a variable to (), but parenthesis are just used for grouping and there's no assignment, so this isn't valid code. If you look at the developer console when previewing in a browser it will report this is a syntax error. You don't need this to be a global, or even exist.

You did setup a temperatureConverter in Hype. In my opinion, your life will actually be easier if you make it more like the original code and put it in the head. This way it can be identical to the original. So your head html should look like:

<script>