Basic communication app - startconvo.co.uk

Hi everyone,

So I want to share one of the projects I’ve been working on using hype and javascript.

Background of project

I’m a practicing nurse in the UK and I’ve previously worked on a ward with people who’d had a stroke and found it difficult to talk. I’ve also worked with people with locked in syndrome who can only blink or use small movements.

As you can imagine communication can be difficult for these people. However, there’s a common method used in which a person can use an alphabet board to signal through the letters to create words and therefore communicate.

This communication idea is simple however it relies on both parties knowing the alphabet board well and both understanding how to navigate it. It’s also difficult as a person can only often give 1 signal so the system has to take this into account.

How the system works

The nurse, or person initiating the system, first goes through the alphabet vowels.

Using one signal, such as blinking, the user signals the vowel they want to select.

The nurse then states the vowel again but with the consonants that follow. For example:

if the user blinked at the letter A, then nurse would then say A B C D awaiting a signal for the letter selected. This would be the first letter of the word created.

Heres how the alphabet is layed out using this system:

A bcd
E fgh
I jklmn
O pqrst
U vwxyz

Once a letter has been selected, the process is started again to eventually make a word.

Making the system digital

Having used this method with patients in real life, it’s actually hard to use to start with. First you have to confidently know the alphabet without thinking “what’s next” which is hard when the person in front of you is trying to talk. Also, you have to write down every single letter selected otherwise you risk forgetting what was selected and then not knowing what the person is trying to say.