Animation to show network flow

Hi,

I am an absolute newbie using Hype (just installed it today) with hopes that I could put a simple network flow diagram together for a presentation (I gave up with PowerPoint). I would like to show moving dashed-line (moving to right) to depict data moving through the network.

I’ve tried a few things: 1) created many “dashes” and tried to move each along a path and restart the timeline to make it look like continuous flow. 2) created a JPEG and tried to do something similar (at the end of the timeline, start at the beginning).

In both cases, I couldn’t get the flow to look smooth when the timeline ended. I searched the forum and looked at a lot of samples, but couldn’t see anyone doing what I wanted to do.

Thank you

/H

To provide accurate advice it might be useful if you had some sort of pre-existing example to post?

(also I’ll note that Hype v4 might have a feature that could help with this, feel free to apply for the beta here.)

This is wanted to achieve, but have the animation continue to be smooth on repeat.

dataflow.hype.zip (15.4 KB)

Hi Hugh - Welcome to the Forum!

Attached is Hype Project Demo: dataflow JHSv1.hype.zip (24.5 KB)

There are two different approaches used in this Demo:

The “Original” approach with your JPG image for the dotted line and another that I added utilizing one of Hype’s native drawing primitives (rectangle) to replace the JPG; and also a Symbol - more info on these approaches below Fig.1:

Fig.1 “JPG” and “Rectangle & Symbol” screen shot

The “Original” Approach - Adjustments
I made two changes to your original to get a smoother flow…

1) Unchecked the “Position with CSS left/top” in the “Document Inspector”

**2)** Adjusted the "left" property of the JPEG pixel by pixel until it matched the restart flow - trial and error, took about 30 seconds.

Below your “Original” line animation, as mentioned previously, is another using a…

"Rectangle & Symbol" Approach