Widgets, or Video for iBooks?

Hi all,

I am new to Hype pro. I am working on a small book, which will have several widgets. These widgets are ready (except some fine tuning), but I have a question about iBooks DRM and the fact that it doesn’t protect the widgets in iBooks.

Jonathan was very helpful to explain how we can protect ourselves by unchecking ‘Create restorable document file when exporting’ in Hype’s preferences… but I wanted to ask those of you who are doing the same thing (making iBooks with widgets) how concerned are you guys about the fact the resources can be stolen?

And how do you all feel about exporting video, instead of a widget to protect your elements, resources, etc…

Many thanks in advance for your opinion!

Rob

Even with DRM, content can be stolen.

I prefer using widgets rather than videos because the widgets are interactive and they’re generally smaller in size. From my experience on the App Store, I found that I would lose sales if my app was too large. Lots of people don’t have a lot of space on their iOS devices.

So, when I made A Book About Hype, I focused on keeping the book lightweight.

I deleted some extra files from the widgets, but that was mainly to keep the file size down. With an iBook, I don’t need to worry about IE 6-9 support.

It is a tough problem, but I think it’s getting better for publishers. With all the hacking, viruses and ransomware, people are better understanding the downsides of illegally downloading digital files.

1 Like

Thanks for the info!

Just wondering about the size of the book. If the max size for iBooks is 2GB, what is the acceptable range for a good-small book?