Hype3 and DoubleClick

Hello everyone, I feel like I have searched everywhere on the internet for a solution and haven’t found one yet, so I am reaching out.

I work for an advertising agency and I am a digital designer with a web design background. I have created animated banner ads in HYPE3 that need to be trafficked through doubleclick but I haven’t found the proper way to implement a clickTAG that is compatible with their system.

At one point I had a solution worked out where I was hard coding the URL within the javascript.

<script type="text/javascript">
    var clickTag = "URL";
  </script>

That code was in the header and then I had a piece of javascript on my button that linked to that code.

javascript:window.open(window.clickTag)

This is the code on my button.

The problem with this, is that is didn’t function in firefox. Chrome and safari worked. Also, I am not sure if this will let the trafficker change the URL via doubleclick, I am testing that today.

I have tried the tutorial that I found in the forums along with a dozen other “solutions” but nothing else worked, every file threw and error in DoubleClick that the clickTAG was missing.

Has anyone successfully figured this out or have a different solution?
Please let me know, I would be very grateful as this has been a very frustrating process.

I’m pretty sure the variable that Double Click is looking for is one of the following:

• %%DEST_URL_ESC%%
  • %%DEST_URL_ESC_ESC%%
  • %%DEST_URL_UNESC%%

… based on this help article. Are you using one of those and still getting an error?

<script type="text/javascript">
    var clickTag = "%%DEST_URL_ESC%%";
  </script>

Firefox might be thinking that your window.open function is loading a popup if it is opening a new _blank window. The Stack Overflow threads linked here seem to confirm that. Do you have any popup blockers enabled on Firefox?

1 Like

Thank you for your reply! We have successfully figure it out!