Help to improve designs!

I have been using Hype since 2014. I developed about 100 movies and iBook chapters (with Hype widgets) to help bachelor and master students to better understand some ‘difficult’ IT topics. The students are/were very enthusiastic about the projects.

At the end of this academic year one of my bachelor students made the suggestion to update my files and to give my movies a more ‘professional’ look. I believe he is right (students always are…).

Since the movie is too large to include with this topic, I published an example of one of my movies on YouTube (https://youtu.be/MTCCHlE7WFU). I will use the new YouTube channel IT4STUDENTS to publish all my projects after updating. I really feel bad when I compare my ‘basic’ work with the splendid projects published on this forum.

Is there anybody who can give me some great ideas to professionalize my projects?

1 Like
  • Don't overuse transitions. Just deliver the data.
  • Don't use videos for text. Maybe use Hype itself if the information is meant to be interactive.
  • It looks like you're just making a presentation, maybe use one of the themes in Keynote or Powerpoint.

There's lots of other software that could be used to make a presentation more interesting...

...or just search...

1 Like

Thank you so much. I use videos to avoid distribution problems. I chose Hype because of the animation capabilities.

The comments made by my students are similar to your remarks.

Some comments from my students:

• too much text on one scene;
  • transition between scenes is too fast (you have to pause the movie to read all text on one scene);
  • simple animations (not very attractive);
  • movies must be short and attractive.

From a graphical design perspective, a little bit can also go a long way. I’m not one to say be super trendy to the point of distraction, but using “modern” styling can leave a more credible impression sometimes. I’d recommend: