Drag and Drop with Videos, Timeline versus Scene

I’m pretty new to Hype, but want to have a drag and drop trigger a video. It’s a sort of branching scenario. But it looks like I can’t have two videos in the same scene be on different timelines, unless I’m really missing something. The “Video Track” doesn’t even show up on the additional timelines, and the manual keyframes don’t appear to do anything.

So, should I have the D&D move between scenes (Hype’s JS API is not nearly as robust for doing this as it is for moving between timelines) or should I put them on the same timeline in one scene and use JavaScript to build a drag and drop on a paused Timeline, where the first part of the video is up front, and then the d&d triggers a continue or moves to a specific point on the timeline? And if so, is there anywhere on the panels I can get the specific time in miliseconds where a keyframe or object is, so I can use that in my code, or do I have to do the conversion myself?

Also, does this even make sense, or am I crazy and doing this all wrong? Is there an example somewhere that would help me? My employer is being kind to me so near the holidays, but I have burned too many hours trying to figure this project out on my own. Thanks!

In general Hype doesn’t have many timeline facilities for controlling video, about the only one you can do is change the start time of when the video will play on the main timeline. (There’s lots of requests for better control, and a bit of a history why it is only this way right now). The fact you can add Keyframes for the Video Track is a bug :slight_smile:.

The video will probably be better controlled by JavaScript. When you add a video to Hype it is a <video> element, so you can assign a Unique Element ID in the Identity Inspector and then access it via hypeDocument.getElementById("vidID") and use .play() and .pause() functions.