Atoms continuing motion

I’m a rookie user of the physics tool. I’d like to make a box with circles bounding around perpetually, representing atoms in a contained gas. I figure the box should be made of static elements and the atoms/circles should be dynamic, with scene gravity set to zero. Sort of like the pool table in Hype’s PhysicsMaster demonstration file. But even when I set air drag and friction to zero on the atoms, they always eventually slow to a stop. (Same thing when I set air drag and friction to zero on the pool balls in that pool table sample.) Is there some way to make the atoms conserve their momentum? And ideally have perfectly elastic collisions? Thanks for any tips.

In the past, I have tried to make a similar animation using the Hype Physics engine.

See here for the thread describing this and related details: http://forums.tumult.com/t/discuss-pro-feature-physics/266/101?u=drewbullen

My eventual conclusion was that the underlying physics engine wasn’t up to this kind of task. Sad!

Hmm. That is sad. Thanks for the feedback.

As Hype is not a 3D app, a key issue is handling an object that moves in front of something and then in back of it. The only way to do this is to have duplicates front and back and turn them on and off in sync with the motion.

Here’s an example of foreground/background transition. (Ideal for those who feel like popping a dramamine, putting on some sitar music, and staring at the screen for half an hour.) Note that the pink object is tilted back on the X axis.

The objects have been split into sections with individual sections appearing and disappearing. Try putting an object between the layers and the two will appear to be swimming around it.

SimpleSwirl.hype.zip (33.6 KB)

Another key issue is that flat is flat. Hype won’t let you put object one inside object two, rotate object 2 in the X axis and counter rotate object one on the X.