Save Scene Location (Local storage maybe?)

Hi Everyone!

I am working on an “app” I’d like to put in iOS, where I want the hype project to remember the location (and maybe a score) so when the user returns to the app, they just pick up where they left off. Without having to click a load button.

Here is what this scenario would look like, “The user opens the ‘app’ and navigates to Scene 5. They close the app and return to it 2 days later. When they open the ‘app’, Scene 5 automatically loads up and let’s them pick up where they left off.”

Is this possible? If so, how would this work?

Thanks!

2 Likes

here’s a nice library to simplify the usage of localStorage

Thank you for your quick reply!

I understand the concepts of local storage, however I’m a complete novice to javascript and html. Would you happen to know where I can find an example of something like this in a hype project?

Thanks!!

Logan

For example, i’d like to do something like this "http://forums.tumult.com/t/resume-a-scene-from-its-last-played-time/1139” but when the user opens the app.

Hello,
Have you find the answer ?

Hi @Fmedioni

Here is an example of using localStorage to store the scene.

scene-localStorage.zip (90.9 KB)

5 Likes

Many thanks, your Example helped me a lot!!!

hi @mastermindcoach , and @DBear
it isnt working on safari 12.
is there a problem on my Safari of Mac, or it s a common issue?
Thanks…

This is magic! Nice work and great demo.

1 Like

Hi Dear

In the example you provided you have a function where you clear local storage:

localStorage.clear();

Is there a way to only clear the names of the scenes recorded instead of cleaning all local storage. There may be other things stored there which I may still need.

Looking forward to your reply.

Greg

you can use
localStorage.removeItem('myKey');

turning on your preferred searchengine with query like “js localStorage” will lead to several sources describing usage, methods …

2 Likes

Hi Hans