Looking for help with adding Javascript to persistent symbols

Hello!

I'm new to Tumult Hype, but I'm really excited with what I have been learning so far! I'm working on a project, and I'm stuck in a few areas. All of my previous website work has been with visual programs like Adobe Muse and Wordpress/Elementor page builders. I'm a beginner with coding, so I've got the basic concepts down, but definitely still have a LOT to learn.

I'm trying to create a digital magazine similar to what you would see on Apple's New+ app.

Reading through the forum I have been able to figure out how to scroll down on a long page and swipe side to side to scroll through the pages. I'm having trouble with the coding to have two bars on the screen- one that sticks to the top and one on the bottom.

I'd love if I can get:
-The top bar to go away when the user scrolls down, and reappears when the user scrolls up.
-A bottom bar that sits at the bottom of the viewport, disappears when the user scrolls down, and reappears when the user scrolls up.
-buttons inside of the bars.

I've been reading through a lot of posts on here and the documentation, and have been trying a few things out. Can I achieve something similar to: Digital Magazine on News + by:

• Using Persistent Symbols for top and bottom bars (Do I add an Element ID to the symbol?)
  • Adding Jquery to resources
  • Adding Javascript Function (if so, do I run on symbol load? on scene load? on prepare for display?)
  • Does this need CSS to be a "sticky" or "fixed" element on the page with what I'm trying to achieve? If so, do I add it to the Head HTML?

I've been working on this for a few weeks and would be so appreciative if someone could guide me if I'm headed in the right direction, or if I'm totally off and need to do some more research. Thank you!

:slight_smile:

Mobile_test-scroll.zip (41.6 KB)