I made something simple, do I really have to rename everything for each layout?

I have a simple quiz that works as intended at 700 px wide. So I went to add the other layouts and it the names of the elements couldn’t be the same as the ones in the 700 wide lay out so gave the new elements the same name but added 500 (the new width) but it doesn’t seem to work. I don’t know if I’m chasing my tail here or is there a simple way to get the element names from layout to lay out?

Are you trying to set the Unique Element ID or the Element’s name in the Element list? When it doesn’t work could you describe a bit more about what you are seeing?

I’m not really good at coding so I might not be using the right terminology.

In my quiz I have the users pick a button to decided their answer. When they do, if they are correct a java script makes the yes element go from 0 opacity to .80 opacity. It does that by using the unique element ID. A Next button is also then set so people can see it and the java script becomes active and resets all the elements to 0 for the next question. That works in my first layout. I didn’t anticipate any issues when I added new layouts. But it didn’t work. So I looked into to it and all the Unique Element IDs were missing, when I added them back, I got errors that they needed to be unique from the last layout. That was a lot of new java scripts and element IDs just to have a responsive design. But I got to work and added all that new content and then one of the buttons didn’t work. It was the next button. It was just never able to find all the elements and turn them to their proper opacity. I’m not sure why. I eventually just bailed on the responsive aspect and made one at 300 wide.
Beyond what was wrong with that specific button, is there information, in a general way, on how to work with responsive designs, unique ids and java scripts? Some kind of road map?