Hype 3 one-window interface

Rolling a floating palette into the main window appears to be the fashion, but it serves only one specific type of user situation - an easygoing situation in which the user has only one monitor. It is one in which tight deadlines and speed are not a major issue.

For people with only one monitor and who like to work full screen it’s not a problem, but for people with a lot of screen real estate and / or a dual monitor rig, this is a huge headache. If you need to resize the window, you don’t need the palettes following you around the screen. You want to have them in one place on the screen and not moving around.

Frankly, being limited to a tabbed palette is tough enough, but to have it permanently attached to the main window is absolutist. I am a pro who knows his software inside and out, including all of Adobe Master Collection. I use my second monitor for palettes. I know exactly where every palette, every tool and every button, slider and field is, and I can go to any of these things instantly. I do not have to click on tabs to find what I want. It is always there in the same place right down to the pixel.

The business of digging through tabs is by definition a compromise, not a feature.

I used to be a major fan of Apple Motion - intellectually, I still am, as the interface (as it originally was) was absolutely brilliant. But then Apple in its wisdom decided that all Motion users work off a single-monitor system. They took all the tool palettes and compressed them into a tabbed palette and then they slammed it into the main window.