Global variables for timeline

Hello,
I’m a javascript newbie. I have tried to find solutions in the forum, but I would appreciate help.
It’s about several sliders that set values. These values should be kept over several scenes and displayed in other scenes. I’m not sure if “window” is the right choice here. In addition there are presets, (I had them done in the HEAD), which should bring the sliders in different scenes to the default position as well as display the corresponding value.
I can’t manage to keep the values from scene 1 and I can’t set the slider to a defined position so that the slider remains movable.
(The sum object is not important, I took it from an example from the forum)
Any suggestion is welcome. Thanks

global_variables_for_sliders_02.hype.zip (40.1 KB)

Hype has an API which you can store in it’s scope globals.
hypeDocument.customData There are plenty of threads already that explains how to…

The were a number of mistakes in you code, like if( element)...
That always going to be true.

Anyway,
This is not perfect but it works…I really try and not to change peoples code too much when they are learning as it could get too confusing if it does not contain most of their logic.
you’re likely going to have to muddle through my changes…

( note I also increased duration of the slider 2 timeline to work better with the math logic )

MHv1_global_variables_for_sliders_02.hype.zip (64.0 KB)

3 Likes

Thank you Mark,

you were right, I had to muddle through your changes.

I have now added another scene with another slider. At first everything went right.

Then I created a menu to navigate to all scenes. To be honest, there are some things I probably don’t understand yet, because I couldn’t get all sliders to be in the right positions (the lower slider in scene 1 won’t…).