Animating background image with GIF

Hi, Im brand new to Hype and Im bring to get a costume animation in a form of animated GIF on an element that will be used as a button. The problem was that GIF play as soon as you load them, so I worked out a solution where I start the timeline for that button with a still image and on the second frame replace it for the GIF. All the buttons also have the reverse of all the other buttons (gif to still) so that I can use relative timelines to circle the animations. It worked great! Until I tried it in google chrome and firefox… It works great with Safari but not in them!

Can anyone give me some advice! I read about the problem of getting GIFs to play on command and found some solutions using pure javascript or jQuery but Im not a coder and my timeline solution was perfect until it wasnt. ): Would appreciate if anyone could help me figure out why firefox and chrome don’t replay the animation like safari, or a simple alternative. Thanks!

elements01_03.hype.zip (414.0 KB)

It looks like Chrome/Firefox don’t restart an animated GIF when resetting it as a background image.

I’d honestly just ask why you’re not doing the rotation and background pop as a Hype-based animation? All those effects are possible and would look much better if done in Hype.