Values for Elements from Spreadsheet?

Hi all,

Many thanks in advance for considering my question. I’ve made a few websites with Hype but I’m not a programmer. I’m a med student and this current project is to create a new way to visualize the sensitivities of bacteria to antibiotics (antibiogram).

I’m wondering if there’s a way that I could link the values in a spreadsheet to values for elements - for example a column of percentages that determine the opacity of particular objects (for this project, the % sensitivity of bacteria to an antibiotic), or a column of words that corresponds to particular text boxes (here, the names of bacteria). I wonder about whether there’s a way to have an element grab data from a cell of a googledoc spreadsheet, so I could edit the spreadsheet and have the site stay up to date? Many thanks for your feedback,

Benji

Can’t hep on googledoc, but the common way would be to work with a database or *.json files.
may be googledoc has an export for json?

This maybe Possible. But maybe a bigger question outside of Hype.

I just did a test Using the Google Drive Javascript API.

My test worked but you will need to workout the full details of the Google Javascript API and then try and incorporate it into Hype.

It looks like the API allows you to access your files on the Google Drive via Javascript and a web app.

I would suggest that if you already have a Googel Drive/Account you setup a new Google account and use it for this and keep you main one separate.

In My test I followed the instructions Here

https://developers.google.com/drive/web/quickstart/js#step_1_enable_the_api_name

In the Instructions it Mentions about running a Python server. I did not want to do this so I worked around it.
Again for your test you will need to workout this yourself and how your real one would work.

My Test setup

I created a New Hype Project and added a HTML Widget.