Using radio button choices to jump to different scenes within a document

I’m new to Hype and am trying to use it to build a multiple-choice quiz. I have gotten as far as using InnerHTML to build a radio button form. What I would like to do is script it so that submitting the form would jump you to one scene (in the same Hype document) if you choose the right answer, or an alternate scene if you have chosen incorrectly. I am a javascript neophyte so have been trial-and-erroring without much success. Is this possible to do without leaving or reloading the page?

Yeah sure. Best thing to do (almost always) is to .zip up a copy of your doc and post it here so that we can tailor a solution that is specific to your scenario. OR offer a better one :wink: but, to make sure we’re not going off on any tangents or offering something that conflicts it’s best to show us what you have.

Generally, you’ll want to have a function run when the checkbox changes state and then send the user to the appropriate scene depending on the id/class of the element (or some other identifier).

This attached file is basically it, I’ve removed all my trial-and-error javascript. The first scene is the multiple choice question. The idea is that submitting the right answer (“b”) would take you to the second scene that tells you answered correctly, any other choice would jump you to the third scene that tells you you got it wrong. Eventually I’d add a link to those answer scenes that would jump you to a scene containing question number two, and repeat the whole process again.

quiz.zip (44.7 KB)

ok. Strap yourself in… we’re going for a Javascript ride :smiley:

Just a few minor changes. First of all, we change the innerHTML (the form that was created) by removing the <form></form> tags we stop the page from refreshing. We keep everything else but change the submit button to not call the function ad give it an id so that we can grab it and use it.