Simulate a Search with two different Strings

Hi there.

I try to build a mockup where I have different scenes with a search field always at the same place (symbol).

The user should be able to enter two different strings e.g. "water" and "sun" and related to the entered string a hidden symbol layer should get visible.

So far I do the hide/unhide thing with different classes and a snippet like this ...

var elements = document.getElementsByClassName('toggleview1');

for (var i = 0; i < elements.length; i++) {
    elements[i].style.display = elements[i].style.display == 'block' ? 'none' : 'block';
    }

I duplicated this snippet for different symbols and groups (toggleview1, toggleview2, toggleview3 etc.) and I already took a look at:

But as I am not a js coder it is hard for me to determine, whether there is a simpler way to achive the goal, because in this thread there is a lot functionality on top - and I would like to unhide a symbol instead of jumping to a scene. There a lot of scenes ...

Sorry that I cannot share the project, would be much easier, but I cant unfortunatly.

Any guesses?

Although you cannot post thr real project. Can you post a small mockup project showing a similar setup and coding you have.

Also you have not said why you need to give each symbol a different class name . I assume you are using the class name for other things.

You can though add more then one class name in the class name field. Then you can use one single class name for all the symbols for running a single instance of the code snippet.

Thanks! You are right - will do so and attach a project later.

Regarding the different class names, I have several symbols per scene and their visibility is toggeld through different buttons. And I think (do not know better) getElementById is always tricky with symbols and I have a lot of scenes, so I thought, this is the easiest way.

Will post a mockup of the mockup …

1 Like