Pause audio after playing

I am trying to find a way to pause audio that is playing in my Hype document within each othe characters at the top. When you clock on them a bio appears for each one with an audio read along. So far I have been able to “Play Sound” and “Stop Sound” using the Mouse Clicks in the Actions section.

I have seen ways to tie in Javascript with this, but since I am a beginner some assistance would be nice.

The link to view this is http://thesupersustainables.com/characters/ And I have also made the hype work file accessible through dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lhrynwtaw6h575k/characters.zip?dl=0

Thanks for viewing and hope you can assist.

Hi Angel!

I have created a demo here. For the purposes of this demo it features only Tara (Terra) and the “Pause~Play~Stop” controls.

Is this what You were requesting?

If so adding the “Pause” control requires a more intricate set-up (JavaScript) than the “Play Sound” - “Stop Sound” arrangement You currently have using Hype’s built-in commands. All the controls will need to use JavaScript, not just “Pause”. And to utilize the JavaScript you are going to need to add elements with audio tags.

A fair amount more work compared to what You have now… so ask yourself just how important a “Pause” control is to your interface. Your voice overs are mostly around one minute which isn’t terribly long to play at one time - even for a youngster. Just a thought.

This is awesome. How can I get started with this please? I did try to steer away from this but would need it as part of the story. Thank you.

Hi Angel!

I won’t have time to go over this with You for at least another day - and I set it up for my own quickie demo, it is not a finished work. I will need to tighten it up - but You seem raring to go - and the over all concept is valid. The attached Demo is way stripped down to the bare essentials so I could upload it here.

CharactersDemo_JHSv2.zip (1.3 MB)