New user: Issue with exporting and uploading hype file to web host via FileZilla

Hello all. I am very new to web development, and would really appreciate some help with this!

I successfully uploaded my hype built website a week or so ago (while on the phone with GoDaddy), and since I’ve wanted to make a few edits to my site. They are edits I feel I can’t do with a text editor (HTML coding is novice at best) and so I went ahead and opened the file, made my edits, exported to folder, etc. I went into FileZilla, deleted the old site, and uploaded my new site. Now I get a Forbidden Error:

Forbidden

You don’t have permission to access / on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Anyone have any advice to get around this? I literally did the exact same steps as before, but now it isn’t working!

Thanks,
Nichole

I think it depends on what you actually deleted. I have no experience with goDaddy or how their servers work. But, I would imagine you remove a file that you shouldn’t have.

I am not sure if they have a user control panel to manage the website site, perhaps there is a reset. Otherwise you will need to speak to goDaddy and ask them to fix it.

To be honest, I have done this a few times in my life :smile:

404 Not Found is a standard message. It cannot find the webpage file since it was deleted. The new one has maybe a wrong path or so. I think you can safely ignore this message for now and focus on your root folder of the web host.

First check if you have deleted accidentally any of the files/folders that are put into the "WEBROOT" of your hosting by "GoDaddy." GoDaddy offers I believe two types of hosting: cPanel or Windows based. For the Windows based you should see something like;

Access Logs (folder)
db backups (folder)
dsn (folder)
hcc thumbs (folder)
aspnet client (folder)
scctmp (folder)
ssfm (folder)
welcome.html (file)