Making an object face the cursor

I am having troubles getting code to work inside hype. I am taking a class that uses Hype 3 for retro game development, and I am currently working on a top down shooter game as an alternative to my original final. I have been using hype for maybe 2 years now, but this is my first time utilizing javascript inside of it. I am wondering how I can take this code an change it to work within hype. The code I was using for facing the cursor is below.

var box=$("#box");
var boxCenter=[box.offset().left+box.width()/2, box.offset().top+box.height()/2];

$(document).mousemove(function(e){

var angle = Math.atan2(e.pageX- boxCenter[0],- (e.pageY- boxCenter[1]) )*(180/Math.PI);	    

box.css({ "-webkit-transform": 'rotate(' + angle + 'deg)'});    
box.css({ '-moz-transform': 'rotate(' + angle + 'deg)'});
box.css({ 'transform': 'rotate(' + angle + 'deg)'});

});

I need to translate this into working condition within hype. It is also jquery, so if there is a pure plain javascript alternative I would love to know

Vanilla Javascript (using Hype’s API also)

// could use hypeDocument.getElementById('blah'). different ways to do it. I chose this way :)
var box = element.querySelector('.box');

box.left = hypeDocument.getElementProperty(box, 'left');
box.width = hypeDocument.getElementProperty(box, 'width');
box.top = hypeDocument.getElementProperty(box, 'top');
box.height = hypeDocument.getElementProperty(box, 'height');

var boxCenter = [box.left + box.width/2, box.top + box.height/2]

// here element is the scene (as function is run on scene load) 
//could use document.onmousemove ... again just personal preferenc
element.onmousemove = function(e) { 

var angle = Math.atan2(e.pageX- boxCenter[0],- (e.pageY- boxCenter[1]) )*(180/Math.PI);

box.style.webkitTransform = "rotate(" + angle + "deg)";
	box.style.mozTransform = "rotate(" + angle + "deg)";
	box.style.transform = "rotate(" + angle + "deg)";

}